高柳 昌行 (Masayuki Takayanagi New Direction Unit) / Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1 (CD/LP)

  • 高柳 昌行 (Masayuki Takayanagi New Direction Unit) / Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1 (CD/LP) - sleeve image
  • 高柳 昌行 (Masayuki Takayanagi New Direction Unit) / Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1 (CD/LP) - thumbnail
  • 高柳 昌行 (Masayuki Takayanagi New Direction Unit) / Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1 (CD/LP) - thumbnail
  • 高柳 昌行 (Masayuki Takayanagi New Direction Unit) / Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1 (CD/LP) - thumbnail
Label (cat no.)
dmrp-110 / BF-015
Price (inc.tax)
2,420円 - 3,950円
Vinyl LP

1975年9月5日に行われた高柳昌行ニュー・ディレクション・ユニットによるライブを収録したアルバム『Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1』がヴァイナル再発。こちらはパート1。

MASAYUKI TAKAYANAGI New Direction Unit による『Axis Another Revolable Thing Part 1』。高柳昌行の伝説的記録、ニュー・ディレクション・ユニット「アクシス (Axis Another Revolable Thing)」パート1とパート2が同時発売。こちらはパート1。1975年9月5日に行われた新宿・安田生命ホールでのライブ音源を収録したアルバム。

高柳昌行 (guitar)、森剣治 (reeds)、井野信義 (bass,cello)、山崎弘 (percussion)


Axis/Another Revolvable Thing is the second installment of Blank Forms’ archival reissues of the music of Japan’s eternal revolutionary Masayuki Takayanagi, following April is the cruellest month, a 1975 studio record by his New Direction Unit. Comprised of recordings of a September 5, 1975 concert by the New Direction Unit at Yasuda Seimei Hall in Tokyo’s Shinjuku district, the two volumes showcase Takayanagi in deep pursuit of what he began calling “non-section music” after leaping beyond the confines of his prior descriptor “real jazz.” The quartet of Takayanagi (guitar), Kenji Mori (reeds), Nobuyoshi Ino (bass, cello), and Hiroshi Yamazaki (percussion) deftly explores the twin poles of Takayanagi’s spacious “gradually projection” and explosively virulent “mass projection” concepts across six pieces, titled Fragments I – VI and split between the two LPs.

As part of his liner notes for Part 1 (newly translated for this edition), noted Japanese free jazz critic Teruto Soejima wrote:

New Direction Unit performances always emit the smell of blood. Fresh blood, never blood that is old or crusted. This is not the desiccated shell of music, it’s sound through which pumps the blood of living human beings. Blood that seethes, that flows and counterflows, that blazes, runs, rises and congeals, blood that vomits and spurts. Vivid, scarlet blood. The ultimate beauty that Takayanagi aims at, is it not the color of this blood?
Blood calls out to blood. For these four musicians, playing together means feasting on each other’s blood. It is also a summon- ing to a secret blood oath, to the creation of solidarity with the audience. In the moment, truly, the situation and beauty are instanta- neously unified. To borrow the title of a movie by Ko?ji Wakamatsu: blood is redder than the sun.

Masayuki “Jojo” Takayanagi (1932 – 1991) was a maverick Japanese guitarist, a revolutionary spirit whose oeuvre embodied the radical political movements of late ‘60s Japan. Having cut his teeth as an accomplished Lennie Tristano disciple playing cool jazz in the late ‘50s, Takayanagi had his mind blown by the Chicago Transit Authority’s “Free Form Guitar” in 1969 and promptly turned his back on the jazz scene by which he was beloved, going as far as to call his former peers and admirers “a bunch of losers” in the press. Takayanagi had found a new direction, an annihilation of jazz and its associated idolatry of hegemonic American culture. Aiming his virtuoso chops towards the stratosphere, Takayanagi dedicated himself to the art of the freakout, laying waste to tradition left and right, most notably via the all-out assault of his aptly-named New Direction for the Arts (later New Direction Unit) and collaborations with like-minded outsider saxophonist Kaoru Abe. His innovations on the instrument parallel those of Sonny Sharrock and Derek Bailey and paved the way for the Japanese necromancy of Keiji Haino and Otomo Yoshihide, but even at its most limitless hurdling Takayanagi’s playing is propelled by the dexterous grasp of his foundations, to which he paid tribute with elegant takes on flamenco and Ornette Coleman’s “Lonely Woman.” In the autumn of his life, Takayanagi’s solo Action Direct performances made him one of the first guitarists, alongside but independent of Keith Rowe, to use tabletop guitar for pure noise improvisation.


1. FRAGMENT - II 漸次投射 (14:20)
2. FRAGMENT - III パーカッション・ソロ (13:05)
3. FRAGMENT - VI 集団投射 (22:06)

Vinyl LP
A1. Fragment - II (Gradually Projection) 15:04
A2. Fragment - III (Percussion Solo) 13:18
B1. Fragment - VI (Mass Projection) 22:59
| 納品書・領収書 | ペーパーレスの目的から「納品書」は発行していません。領収書を希望のお客様は注文時に「領収書希望」項目にチェックを入れて下さい。手書きの領収書は発行していません。
| 不良品について | 新品商品の場合、使用前の明らかな盤面のキズのみ不良品と判断させていただきます。返品対応のみで交換は行っていません。中古品は基本、返品対象外となります。

Related Items | 関連商品

Vinyl LP

Pre Order

Pick Up Item

  • THOMAS KÖNER / Motus (2LP) - sleeve image

    THOMAS KÖNER / Motus (2LP)

    PORTER RICKS のメンバーでもある THOMAS KONER の 4年ぶりとなるアルバムが Mille Plateaux からリリース。グリッチ、ドローン、そして地の底でグツグツと沸沸るような低域の振動による微かなグルーヴが作り上げる異形、異界のダンス・ミュージック。

  • KASSEL JAEGER, JIM O'ROURKE / In Cobalt Aura Sleeps (LP) - sleeve image

    KASSEL JAEGER, JIM O'ROURKE / In Cobalt Aura Sleeps (LP)

    GRM のメンバー KASSEL JAEGER と JIM O'ROURKE によるコラボレート第2段。ドローン、繊細なハウリング、微細なノイズ、それらが闇夜に波打つ波紋のような音像を形成し静寂感を伴い空間を覆う、美しいエレクトロ・アコースティック。

  • MARJA AHTI / The Current Inside (LP+DL) - sleeve image

    MARJA AHTI / The Current Inside (LP+DL)

    MARJA AHTI のセカンド・アルバム『The Current Inside』。本作は流れをテーマとし、大気の層が描く叙景に触発された作品。「Presences Electronique」と「Sonic Acts」のために INA GRM から委託された作品を含みます。

  • DOMINIQUE GRIMAUD / 19 Feedbacks (LP) - sleeve image

    DOMINIQUE GRIMAUD / 19 Feedbacks (LP)

    フランスの実験音楽家 DOMINIQUE GRIMAUD によるアルバム。1960年代ポップおよびロックの多くのアーティストへのフィードバックとしての作品であり、その時代の音源からサンプルした謎めいたサウンド・ピースによりコラージュされた、曖昧で美しく眩惑するサウンド・スケープ。

  • NURSE WITH WOUND / Rock 'n Roll Station (2LP) - sleeve image

    NURSE WITH WOUND / Rock 'n Roll Station (2LP)

    NURSE WITH WOUND が1993年に発表した傑作が13年ぶりにヴァイナル・リリース。1曲未発表トラックに差し替え。工業系の強力なリズムに、ドローン、アトモスフェリックな要素、ディジュリドゥ、ヴォイスなどが投入され完成したアルバム。

  • ROY MONTGOMERY, EMMA JOHNSTON / After Nietzsche (LP) - sleeve image


    ROY MONTGOMERY が奏でる退廃的で荒涼としたサウンドスケープに、EMMA JOHNSTON の美しいヴォーカルが降り注ぐ、そのコントラストに魅了されるシューゲイズ・サウンド。Bサイドの21分強の曲は圧巻です。